"Headspace Southport"

About: Headspace Southport Lives Lived Well - Gold Coast

(as a service user),

I was waiting for my appointment at Headspace Southport in the waiting room and I could overhear a group facilitator talking with another young person who had just come out of an activity. I was extremely uncomfortable with some things that this staff member had said and the context in which they were saying them. It was very inappropriate for this person to be talking to a young person using the services of Headspace about other young people they had been having issues with. At the time the staff member was complaining about some of the young people from the particular group and I believe I heard the facilitator say 'I just wanted to kill myself by the end of it'. For a person working in the mental health industry to say this to one of their clients in a waiting room where all could hear was extremely inappropriate and unprofessional and was honestly quite upsetting. I am very disappointed and unimpressed by the behaviour of this person in such an important position of care. It is shameful.

Responses

Response from Philip Williams, Manager, Headspace Southport

Dear S-E,

I am sorry to hear of your experience at Headspace Southport. Providing a sense of hope and support to young people is one of the key values of our service, and it is concerning that this hasn't been your experience on this occasion.

Listening to your feedback is an important way for us to improve our services and I thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please be assured that we do not condone behaviour of the nature you have described, and we have taken steps to address your concerns as a matter of urgency.

If you would like to provide any more specific details that would allow us to look into this matter further I would be happy to hear from you directly.

Warm regards

Philip Williams
Manager Headspace Southport

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
;