"Wait time and a staff member"

About: Sydney Sexual Health Centre

(as the patient),

Sydney Sexual Health Clinic. I am HIV+, needed a new script. Went in admittedly without an appointment. After waiting 90 minutes I was told I was next. After 2 hours I inquired at reception again and asked if there was any information on where else I can get a script and a receptionists says "I have idea, your GP? " (If my GP could write them I wouldn't even be there, that is obvious and damn sure the receptionist knows that). Finally a nurse actually helped and got me a doctor. I refused my 6 monthly blood test because my patience was stretched as it was and got my script. I was with the doctor for 5 minutes out of a 2 hour and 6 min experience and still wasn't given any info on alternatives. THANKS.

Responses

Response from Jennie Barry, General Manager, Prince of Wales/Sydney/Sydney Eye Hospital

Dear Only needed a script

Your insight to our service is valuable and I thank you for using Patient Opinion to share your experience with us. The SSHC clinic is a large clinic and provides specialist care for many patients each day, however due to clinical needs, at times the waiting times are longer than expected. I am sorry that in this instance we have not provided the high standard of service that our staff pride themselves in and again thank you for your valuable feedback. Your feedback will be forwarded to the Managers of the service for review.

King regards

Julie Dixon

Director, Planning, Population Health and Equity

Posted under Jennie Barry sign off

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
;