"My Day Surgery cancelled at the last minute after waiting 4.5hrs prepped for surgery."

About: Geraldton Hospital

(as the patient),

I was in the Day Surgery Clinic in The Geraldton Regional Hospital and had been waiting 4.5 hrs and already prepped for surgery to be told that my surgery was cancelled due to too many surgeries booked in for that day and not enough staff and that they also had emergency surgeries.

I was not happy, I am in pain most of the time and was in pain all day and have been very unwell the last few weeks due to acute sinusitis and asthma. My acute sinusitis triggers my asthma and I have ended up in A&E previously in Geraldton because of this and told I needed this surgery for these reasons. In saying this I was still not classed as emergency surgery and felt I was tossed aside like a stray dog.

No nurses asked if I was ok, a bit of compassion and empathy wouldn't go astray.

I am pretty disgusted. I went home in pain and back to living on strong pain meds, steroids for the inflammation in my sinuses and for my asthma.

Maybe when I drop dead from the next bad asthma attack from my acute sinusitis I may be classed as an emergency, but by then I will probably be dead.

Well done - lack of Government funding for our hospitals and I believe the care factor being zero for patients and their health.

Responses

Response from Michele Young, Coordinator Executive Services, Executive Services, WACHS - Midwest

picture of Michele Young

Dear Disappointed and disgusted

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Patient Opinion. I was so sorry to read that your scheduled surgery was cancelled and that you are unwell and in pain due to acute sinusitis and asthma. Unfortunately on occasion there can be unexpected delays and cancellations with surgery due to a number of factors, however this does not take away from your experience. WA Country Health Service strives to provide compassionate patient centred care and it appears we fell well short of the mark on this occasion and I apologise that you have experienced our service in this way. I have spoken to Derek Fraser, Geraldton Hospital Operations Manager who would really like the opportunity to undertake an investigation. We would be grateful if you could contact us directly to discuss the issues you have raised. Derek can be contacted on 9956 2369 or alternately you can contact me on 9956 8695 or michele.young@health.wa.gov.au

Your call would be very welcome and can still be addressed anonymously if you wish. We will of course respect your decision should you choose not to make contact and if this is the case we will have general discussions with staff about your experience and how we may improve.

Thanks again for taking the time to write and I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards

Michele

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Michele Young, Coordinator Executive Services, Executive Services, WACHS - Midwest

picture of Michele Young

Dear Disappointed and disgusted

Thank you for getting in touch with me, it was lovely to speak to you. Derek Fraser Geraldton Hospital Operations Manager has also advised that he has spoken to you and the information you have provided will allow us an opportunity to undertake a review through the complaints management process. Derek has also advised that your surgery has now been rescheduled for the 21 November.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience on Patient Opinion and your feedback will allow us the opportunity to see how we can do things better.

I wish you all the best for the 21st.

Kind regards

Michele

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Michele Young, Coordinator Executive Services, Executive Services, WACHS - Midwest

picture of Michele Young

Dear Disappointed and disgusted

I would like to take a moment to give you an update on the action we have taken as a result of your feedback. I can advise that staff have been counselled around improving communication with a focus on compassion, empathy and respect in all interactions. I would also like to take this opportunity to again apologise for your experience with our service and I hope your recent visits have been positive and in line with the values and high level of service WA Country Health Service aim to achieve. Please don’t hesitate to contact either Derek Fraser, Operations Manager Geraldton Hospital on 9965 2369 or myself on 9956 8695 or michele.young@health.wa.gov.au if you would like to discuss your concerns further, the door is always open.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback and allowing us an opportunity to improve our service. I hope your surgery was successful and you are recovering well.

Warmest regards

Michele

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
;