"Pathology"

About: Bass Coast Health

(as a carer),

Recently I waited 40 minutes for a blood test one morning, only to be told at 9:10am that pathology would not be open due to a lack of staff. I had a disabled client who was distressed and twenty other people who were justifiably upset. Not the first time this has happened according to others waiting. I feel this is incredibly poor service, in fact no service at all. I believe the many people who rely on BCH deserve better.    

Responses

Response from Jan Child, CEO, Bass Coast Health

picture of Jan Child

Dear Lack of staff,

I am sorry that you had this experience. The Pathology service at Bass Coast Health is a contracted service run by Dorevitch. I have forwarded your feedback to the Manager here and will post his response as soon as I receive it.

Kind Regards,

Jan.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Jan Child, CEO, Bass Coast Health

picture of Jan Child

Dear Lack of staff,

I have spoken to the Pathology Service Manager (Stephen) and have provided his response below. Please let me know if you have any other queries.

Kind Regards,

Jan

Dear Lack of Staff,

I am sorry that you waited 40 minutes and did not receive any service. On this occasion the staff member rostered had a significant family issue on the morning of her shift. Unfortunately this required her immediate attention and she was unable to attend work. On Saturday’s I have very little capacity to replace staff at short notice. I am sorry about the distress this may have caused you, but please understand that I make every effort to ensure that our collection rooms are open as advertised, however from time to time unforeseen events can impact on the service.

Kind Regards,

Stephen

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
;