"Wait times"

About: Sale Hospital / Women's and Children's

(as a parent/guardian),

My child was given a semi-urgent priority of 90 days for a pediatrician referral. 90 days has since lapsed and I have now been informed that 90 days does not necessarily mean my child will actually be seen. What is the point of stipulating 90 days if this cannot be met? It is extremely disappointing as a parent knowing that we could now be waiting a lot longer for a service in which we were assured we would have access to within 90 days. Our family is feeling very let down by the service.

Responses

Response from Jon Millar, Chief Operating Officer, Executive, Central Gippsland Health

picture of Jon Millar

Dear incorrect information,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with information about the experience you had within our service.

I am sorry that on this occasion we were not able to meet the 90 day target and we failed to get in touch with you.

Despite increasing the number paediatricians on our staff our primary commitment is to provide hospital paediatric and newborn services but we are also trying to meet the needs in the community. This is difficult for us and because we provide this service as a public outpatient clinic and we are required to manage our booking system inline with Victorian Public Hospitals Access Policy. These guidelines provide access criteria based upon complexity which are managed between urgent, semi-urgent and routine. As indicated in your feedback your appointment was triaged as semi-urgent. Internally our targets for semi-urgent appointments are within 90 days however this can be impacted due to a number of factors.

If you are happy to contact me we can take a more detailed look at what has gone wrong and hopefully learn more about how we can improve in the future.

I can be contacted on 0351438660 or by email on jon.millar@cghs.com.au

Kind regards

Jon

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
;