"Patient options"

About: King Edward Memorial Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

I find some staff specially clerks are rude and unprofessional, and seem like they the hate patients! 

I have never seen a consultant, it is always RMO (Registered Medical Officers) and registrars. The RMO's are learning, but in my opinion the registrars are arrogant and not interested in patients at all. I felt the registrar rushed me and didn't give me a minute to discuss about my options and my concerns. I had come for a laparoscopic hysterectomy due to fibroid uterus. The registrar said we will not do laparoscopic and not even Pfannenstiel incision. They were going to perform a midline or even laparotomy for a simple fibroid uterus! I said, who is the surgeon, the registrar said it will be them. 

I sought a second opinion from a consultant and he said it is because the registrar does not feel confident to perform laparoscopy or hysterectomy via Pfannenstiel incision. 

I feel this is absolutely shocking when a registrar forces a patient for a midline incision or laparotomy like years ago. I believe this is just because of their lack of skills and not giving patients other options, whereas they could refer me to laparoscopy team at KEMH. I feel this shows a very poor work ethic as a doctor, an absolute lack of compassion for patient and taking advantage of my position as a public patient. In my opinion, this kind of doctor makes patients at public sector incredibly vulnerable. I have paid tax for ages and this is the firs time I am using a public hospital. It is very unfair!!

There are other public hospitals like RPH (Royal Perth Hospital)  that in my opinion, are brilliant, specially the breast clinic team. So please don't tell me that it is because you are busy or it is a public hospital. I think the quality of care in some departments and clinics at RPH, SCGH (Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital), and FSH (Fiona Stanley Hospital) are outstanding, so in my opinion, it is the time that KEMH re-consider their work ethic and the quality of care they provide to patients. 

Responses

Response from Graeme Boardley, Director, Midwifery, Nursing and Patient Support Services, Women and Newborn Health Service, King Edward Memorial Hospital

picture of Graeme Boardley

Dear monocerosjj69,

Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. I am sorry that this has been your experience with our service.

I have discussed the issues you have raised with the Medical Co-Director of Gynaecology and he has offered to meet with you, to discuss and clarify your clinical needs.

If you contact my office 6458 1466 and provide your contact details, I will arrange for the Co-Director to contact you to organise the discussion and a clinical review.

Once again, I apologise that this has been your experience and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

Yours sincerely,

Graeme Boardley.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

;