"Complaint of midwife"

About: Geraldton Hospital

(as the patient),

I went to Geraldton Regional Hospital to deliver my first baby. Hours after my baby was delivered a midwife, was assisting me with breastfeeding for the first time. I felt the midwife was rushing me and I did not feel happy with how she treated me. I had never breastfed before and did not know what to do. The midwife basically left me to figure it out by myself and said my baby was latching fine. When another midwife came in she told me my baby was not latching and had to be syringe fed as my baby was not feeding properly. In my opinion, if the first midwife had taken the time to sit down and show me how to latch we would have not had a problem. I found this midwife to be very careless, when taking my temperature orally, she put the thermometer in my mouth without a plastic cap on. I was not happy with how careless I believe she was as she exposed me to germs from other people.

My biggest complaint is a number of days after my baby was born by c-section, just as I was ready to be discharged this same midwife came in an told me she had pricked herself after my c-section. I was quite upset by this as I did not know fully what that meant. When the midwife told me she said - you’re a nurse, you understand what that means - and up and left. I am not a nurse and no I did not know what anything she had told me meant. She did not explain anything to me and I was left feeling very upset. I had to have blood tests done, and when asked if my baby would be affected they told me no. My baby now has to have a blood test to see if they have anything. I understand these things can’t be helped, but I would have liked to have been told earlier, not that many days after my baby was born and I would have liked to have been told in a more appropriate manner and explained everything. I had no other problems with any of the other midwives. I was not happy with this one midwife at all.


Response from Michele Young, Coordinator Executive Services, Executive Services, WACHS - Midwest

picture of Michele Young

Dear romeohh97

Firstly congratulations on the birth of your little one and taking the time to share your experience on Patient Opinion in what must be a very busy time for you. I was disappointed and very sorry that you have experienced our service in this way as it does not meet the service standards we strive for. Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and your story has been passed on to members of the Executive team for review.

We would really like an opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised and we would be grateful if you could contact us as this will allow us to investigate further. Derek Fraser, Operations Manager Geraldton Hospital can be contacted on 9956 2369 or Derek.Fraser@health.wa.gov.au, alternately you can contact me on 9956 8695 or Michele.Young@health.wa.gov.au. Your call would be very welcome and can still be addressed anonymously if you wish.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your story, Patient Opinion assists in strengthening the partnership we have with our service users by allowing patients, families and carers to share their experiences and allow us opportunity to improve our service.

I wish you all the very best and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story