"Failed surgery"

About: Royal Perth Hospital

(as the patient),

I broke my ankle at work in 2018. I was sent by ambulance to Royal Perth where I was operated on by a doctor. During this operation the doctor was meant to realign my ankle and insert plates and screws. The doctor did this but I'm a big guy and they only used small plates. These plates snapped. The doctor was also meant to insert screws in certain places to keep my heel intact which they failed to do, instead inserting the screws in a place that wasn't holding my ankle in place whatsoever. Because of the failed surgery I was sent to a private surgeon at a different hospital who informed me that because of these mistakes I now have the onset of arthritis. And will suffer from arthritis for the rest of my life. I have tried to seek compensation to no avail. I now just have to deal with the misfortune and try and get on with my life with a permanent injury. I believe this would have been avoidable if the doctor at Royal Perth had done their job properly in the first place. But instead I'm now recovering from another ankle surgery that was completed by a competent surgeon who actually knows what they are doing. I do not recommend the doctor I saw at Royal Perth as a surgeon.

The hospital staff on the other hand were very helpful and professional most of the time. Although it did take them 3 days to get my medication correct. I think that was just due to lack of communication.


Response from Lesley Bennett, Executive Director, Royal Perth Bentley Group

picture of Lesley Bennett

Dear piscesbe48,

From what you describe here you have been through a prolonged and painful experience that has no doubt affected your life enormously. I’m very sorry for what you have gone through. Without more information, I cannot comment on the specifics of your operation or treatment. However, I would like to know more. So that we can properly investigate your treatment, can I ask that you please contact our Consumer Engagement Unit on 9224 1637 and speak with one of our staff members? I encourage you to make contact with us through this formal channel so that we can give this the attention that it deserves.

Yours Sincerely

Dr Lesley Bennett

Executive Director

Royal Perth Bentley Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by piscesbe48 (the patient)

My works insurance company has sent me to a private surgeon. They are taking care of the matter. They actually know what they're doing which means I won’t need to see another surgeon. They cannot reverse the arthritis which I believe was caused by your surgeon. So extra consultation will be pointless. But thank you for your concern.