"Long waiting time with no instruction"

About: Fiona Stanley Hospital / Emergency Department

(as a carer),

My spouse was in unknown abdominal pain. From the clinic to Fiona Stanley Hospital Emergency Department it took us nearly 6 hours and we are still waiting on a bed. Not enough doctors is the only answer from the staff. The nurses I saw were eating supper all the time. From an outsider point of view it seems that they are so unprofessional and unhygienic. I do believe that a patient could die on the bed before the doctor's assessment. We were waiting in the ward for more than 6 hours. This is an Emergency Department and I feel it should provide more professional assistance. So sad to see someone you love so sick on the bed and still not getting attention after 6 hours of waiting.


Response from Neil Doverty, Executive Director, Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospitals Group, South Metropolitan Health Service

picture of Neil Doverty

Dear elephantqw39,

I am very sorry to hear that your spouse had to wait 6 hours to see a doctor in our Emergency Department (ED). At times the ED has to manage a high influx of patients which can lead to longer wait times. We do have systems in place to try to mitigate this and we are sorry that in your case you have waited longer than is acceptable.

Thank you for feeding back that you saw staff eating; as you say this is not professional. In the ED there is to be no food on the floor. Communications to all ED staff have been sent to remind them that this is unacceptable behaviour.

Again we apologise for the long wait you have experienced, we trust you did get the care you needed eventually and are now recovering. To enable an accurate investigation into your experience please consider contacting us on 6152 4013.

Kind regards

Neil Doverty

Executive Director

Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospitals Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story