"Surgery cancellation"

About: Angliss Hospital

(as the patient),

I waited a whole month for my appointment. I arrived in the morning at mid morning. I was admitted at shortly after midday in the ward and the usual blood pressure and medical history was taken.

Since my appointment was for flexible sigmoidoscopy, I was told that I would need to get an enema before the procedure. I took the enema; had the bowel movement after a few minutes. It was after 1pm when I was taken inside to prepare for the surgery. We waited there for 15 minutes and were told that I was put on hold for now. I was then taken back to the ward while I was all prepared for the surgery. After 10 minutes of waiting, a nurse came to me and told me that one of the equipment in the surgery room is not working and they must postpone my surgery for another week. I asked the nurse if it was anyway possible to have the surgery today because I took my day off work, paid for the cab to come here since I wasn't allowed to drive, I asked my sibling to take a day off too so someone can take me back home. But the nurse told me it was not possible since there are other pre-booked patients as well. Then I thought I also waited a whole month to have this procedure and I was a pre-booked patient too!

Anyway, then I was told it's not possible and I had to go back home and pay for a cab. Now I have to do this all over again next week; ask my sibling to take another day off, pay for the cab to get there; take enema again and do this all over again. I am so disappointed. Why was their technical team not aware of the equipment failure in the operation theatre? Do they not do compulsory checks every morning? In my opinion, the staff that attended to me were incompetent and can't do their basic job. Do they not check all the equipment at the beginning of the day before commencing the operations? Why is their management not doing anything about it?


Response from David Plunkett, Chief Executive, Eastern Health

picture of David Plunkett

Dear thubanhz34

Thank you so much for taking the time to share comments on your experience waiting for surgery at Angliss Hospital. I am very sorry your planned procedure did not go ahead as you, and the team, had planned.

I appreciate you have also made direct contact with the Patient Relations Advisors in the Eastern Health Centre for Patient Experience. I am so pleased you have done this as now we will be able to review your specific experience to see what went wrong and therefore implement any necessary changes to make sure others don't have the same experience you did.

I trust when you are booked again for your procedure that it goes ahead like clockwork and I am confident the whole team will be doing all they can to make sure you have a much more positive experience.

With kind regards


  • thubanhz34 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Updates, changes and questions related to this story