"Poor clinical treatment"

About: Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital / Emergency Department

(as the patient),

I felt this was terrible service. Had a very new, I believe, clinician assess me in triage. Tried to take blood, hit muscle and was in a lot of pain from that. Blood went everywhere. The clinician didn’t attempt to take blood again. Did a pee test and X-ray and sent me home with no real conclusions.

Felt unsafe.


Response from Amanda McKnight, Acting Executive Director, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, North Metropolitan Health Service

Dear gammadg77,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Emergency Department (ED) with us. I am concerned that you didn’t feel safe with the care that you received during your recent presentation at the ED.

Clinicians working in ED Triage are generally senior staff however drawing blood can be difficult at times and I am sorry that you experienced pain during the procedure. We are committed to improving how we communicate to our patients and apologise that the reason for not taking the blood test was not explained to you and left you feeling unsafe.

We appreciate receiving feedback from our patients as it assists us to continuously improve the way our services are delivered.

I hope you feel better soon.

Kind regards,

Amanda McKnight

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by gammadg77 (the patient)

I am still very unwell. I went to the doctors the next day (1 day after being in emergency) and I felt they helped way more in 5 minutes than the ED did in 6 hours. I had to beg to see a senior doctor to explain why I was being discharged and what was in fact wrong with me.

Also after not eating or drinking anything all day I asked the nurse for some water and they got it for me after I asked them 3 times from the tap, I believe, where everyone washes their hands after using the bathroom. I strongly feel I would not go back there.