"I felt confident I was in good hands"

About: Yarra Ranges Health

(as the patient),

I visited Lilydale Hospital for my routine, 5 yearly colonoscopy check recently.

Prior to my visit, I received an information pack that was excellent. It provided me with clear instructions on the preparation for my pending visit.

On the arrival day at Lilydale Hospital, the customer service of the reception staff was of a high standard and they greeted me in a friendly manner.

I proceeded to wait in the reception area with my spouse.

Unfortunately at this point, the wait time was approximately 1.5 hours before I was taken to see the first specialist for the initial consultation. Feeling very weak, hungry and tired from the prep solution, this felt a lot longer.

However once I was attended to, I had a good experience as the staff were excellent in describing each step of the procedure. I felt confident that I was in "good hands".

Once the check was done, I was rested and given delicious sandwiches with juice. This was a welcome relief.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alan Lilly, Chief Executive, Eastern Health

picture of Alan Lilly

Dear POAUG01

Many thanks for sharing your story on Patient Opinion - your feedback is greatly appreciated. Eastern Health formally joined Patient Opinion earlier this year and this is the first story we have received with regard to Yarra Ranges Health in Lilydale - I hope that this will inspire many more stories too.

I am pleased to read that the service and care which you received on arrival and after your procedure was good and I especially appreciate your comment that you felt that you were in "good hands". We know just how important it is to feel confident in those caring for you. However, I also note your comment with regard to the delay after arrival and whilst this can be for a variety of reasons, I agree that having fasted already for a period of time, it makes that wait seem even longer.

I will be sure to discuss this with the clinical management team to understand why the delay occurred and to see if indeed there are some opportunities for improvement.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your story. I will take great pleasure in sharing your story with the frontline staff at Yarra Ranges Health and the management team too. Through feedback like yours, we are able to understand where we do things well and importantly, where we need to improve.

I trust you are otherwise keeping well.

Kind regards, Alan Lilly

  • POAUG01 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Response from Alan Lilly, Chief Executive, Eastern Health We are preparing to make a change

picture of Alan Lilly


By way of follow-up, I thought I would let you know that there has been a further review of waiting times with the manager of the Perioperative Service at Yarra Ranges Health. She has confirmed that based on your feedback, there will be a specific local review to see if further improvements can be made. Thanks again for sharing your story with us.

Kind regards, Alan Lilly

  • POAUG01 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Recently read