"Post op chaos!"

About: Sunnybank Private Hospital

(as the patient),

Recovery was going as planned and the Nurse was fabulous! (Laura)

However I was horrified to hear that there were only two nurses looking after 25 patients, most being post op. Although I, and the patient next to me, were looked after attentively by Laura, the nurses were run off their feet, no breaks and were exhausted. For a private hospital where patients PAY to go, I'm disappointed in the management of nurse to patient ratios. The safety of patients is not met!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Quality Manager, Sunnybank Private Hospital

Hi Horrified by Care

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Sunnybank Private Hospital. It was very pleasing to read that Nurse Laura provided you with excellent care and I will certainly pass on your positive comments to her.

It is difficult to comment on the nursing staff to patient ratios for that shift as I do not know when you were admitted. Your feedback has been given to the new NUM of the Surgical Unit and she would like to apologise if your stay in her unit was less than satisfactory or if you were affected in any way by delays in meeting your needs. She would love to discuss it further with you and encourages you to contact her on 07 33449476 (Monday to Friday).

Again, thank you for your feedback. All feedback is important to us as it provides an opportunity to see ourselves through our patients eyes and make changes to improve our customer service and clinical care. It also allows us to praise our wonderful staff for the dedication and commitment they show to their patients every day.

Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful