"Great care in ICU and Ward at Box Hill Hospital."

About: Box Hill Hospital

(as the patient),

Hi There,

I would just like to say that I was a patient in Box Hill Hospital both in ICU and in the ward.

I would like to say that the nurses I saw could not have been better in looking after me I was very pleased with the level of care, most of all in ICU, And I must thank Andrew, Katie, Emma, Jenny and one other nurse which I can just not remember her name sorry for that.  They where fantastic also must thank all the doctors and nurses in the ward who cared for me.  I just have one small complaint - I had a very cold room and was trying to keep warm and it had taken a long time for any one to make the bed, I did it a few times myself but was not as good as it could have been. But all in all it was a good say and everybody was great..

Regards

Responses

Response from Ben Kelly, Program Director Emergency and General Medicine and Chief of Site Angliss Hospital, Eastern Health We are preparing to make a change

picture of Ben Kelly

Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm glad you had a positive experience, and one you were willing to share with others. I will pass this on to the staff you mention, and ask Nurse Unit Manager Andrew, to share with the broader staff group.

With regard to the cold room and the bed making delays, I will follow this up to ensure future patients have a better experience in this regard. If you are able to provide any further information please feel free to email me directly at ben.kelly@easternhealth.org.au Once we have determined the best approach to addressing these issues I will post a follow up reply.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide this feedback.

Kind regards,

Ben

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Ben Kelly, Program Director Emergency and General Medicine and Chief of Site Angliss Hospital, Eastern Health We have made a change

picture of Ben Kelly

Further to the above response I can advise that we have discussed the issue of room temperature and bed making processes with the ICU team. I can advise that we will:

ask for a review by the hospital engineering department of room temperatures – the last time we did this was around 12 months ago. provide feedback to ICU staff re the importance of timely bed-making. Currently bed making generally is addressed when a patient is sitting out of bed in ICU, because there is either one staff to one or two patients. We will continue to look at how we can make our patients' stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated.

Ben

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

;