"Disappointing because of one staff member."

About: Broome Health Campus / Emergency Department

(as the patient),

While at Broome ED with a friend who had an injury, I was politely waiting in the waiting room for my friend. The waiting room was empty with no other patients or people waiting. The nurse in charge came out and told me I was not allowed to sit on the chairs in the waiting room while I waited for my friend. She said that the chairs were for patients only. I felt she was very rude and not very nice. Some time after this conversation I went in to sit with my friend at my friend's request and I felt the nurse continued to be rude. I also observed her with other staff members and I believe she was rude to them too. I felt like she didn't want us at the hospital as either a patient or as friends/family supporting a patient and also felt that we were being an inconvenience to her.

I feel sorry for the staff members who have to work with someone who seems so nasty. All the other staff were amazing. Kept us calm in a difficult situation with my friend's injury and we felt very comfortable with them. They were professional and very tolerant of the in charge nurse who, as I said I believe was rude and continued to boss them around in what seemed like a patronising manner.

Thank you to all the other staff who cared for my friend. Unfortunately our experience was disappointing due to the person who was in charge at the time. Good luck to the beautiful staff who have to work with this staff member.  

Responses

Response from Maureen Crowther, Patient Opinion Cordinator, Nursing, WA Country Health Service

picture of Maureen Crowther

Dear Tarnished by one.

Firstly, please accept our apology for the experience you had in ED while trying to be there for your friend. It was heart warming to read your praises for the majority of staff that were on that day. Effective communication, listening and empathy are strong traits we foster in all our staff, however I apologise for the negative experience you alsoreceived that day.

I have referred your story to Donna Hindmarsh, Broome Operational Manager to follow up and investigate. Please email Donna at Donna.Hindmarsh@health.wa.gov.au if you have further information you would like to share. Donna is away until Wednesday, but will promptly follow up on her return.

Thank you for sharing your story.Listening to our patients helps us to improve our service delivery and make changes.

I hope your friend is making a speedy recovery.

Kind regards

Maureen Crowther

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Donna Hindmarsh, Operations Manager, East Kimberley, WACHS - Kimberley

Dear Tarnished by one,

Thank you for sharing your story about your experience in the Broome Emergency Department. I would really like to follow up and investigate the matter but I have not heard from you. Can you please contact me by email at Donna.Hindmarsh@health.wa.gov.au if you wish me to investigate the matter.

I hope your friend has fully recovered by now. I would like to thank you for your positive comments about the staff who work in our Emergency Department, they are very professional and caring and I apologise for your negative experience on that day. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and feedback from our community is one way that assists us to improve our service delivery.

Kind regards

Donna Hindmarsh

Broome Operations Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read

Shift-Alt-R