You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital."

About: Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

(as a relative),

My husband was scheduled for a biopsy {prostate}. He was asked to arrive by 11.00am promptly and had been fasting from 6.00am that morning. We arrived as scheduled and proceeded to be taken through to the appropriate area, where preparation was to take place for the surgery. I stayed for some time and eventually left as parking charges are outrageous.

I called at 1.00pm to see what had transpired between the time I had left and present time - Oh he's still with us but he should be going soon - was the response I received, so I left it at that. At 3.00pm I called again, thinking by now he would have been at least some way through the procedure. However, the response again was - Oh no, he's still with us but shouldn't be long now.

At this point, I was a little taken aback to say the least, but let it go. At 4.30 - 4.45pm I receive a call from my husband - Come and get me. Why? I replied. They've done it to me again, he said. Been there all day from 11.00am, no food or water since 6.00am, no answers. Just a nurse, come into the room/cubicle saying - Oh sorry they can't do you today! It had happened last year as well, from 7.00am, no food or water, until almost 5.00pm. Lights out, cleaner cleaning the floors. Whats happening? he inquired. Oh can't do you today, machine broke down around 2.00pm, was the answer. What? my husband replied - and you couldn't have sent a nurse to tell me earlier instead of my sitting here all day.

On this occasion he was scheduled for the biopsy again. Arrived at 6.45 for 7.00am. Went again through all the same old same old. At his most recent appointment, he was told by the doctor that this time he would be first on the list for the day. I called at 10.30am - Oh he's still with us but shouldn't be long, was the response. At this point I had the worst case of deja vu! Oh no I thought, here we go again. I called again at around 12.15pm, "Oh no he's still with us but should be going soon". At this point I knew something was up!Around 12.30 I receive a call, Was my husband, Come and get me. Why? I inquired, {knowing full well what had transpired}. I was supposed to be first on the list this time. Yes I know, that's what she said at your last appointment. They just told me she's doing her first patient now, then she's going to lunch then she'll be back later. Didn't tell him if he was next on the list or last. Didn't say how long this surgery was going to take, even an approximate time.

How long away she was from doing him, not a word. Enough is enough.

Responses

Response from Geraldine Carlton, A/Executive Director Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group, Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group We are preparing to make a change

picture of Geraldine Carlton

Dear danuch,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about the recent experience of your husband whilst attending Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital. I wish to sincerely apologise for the lack of care coordination your husband received in relation to his biopsy procedure. It was very disappointing to read of this and the poor communication and support he (and you) experienced. I can only imagine how frustrated and let down you both must have felt and I am very sorry for the delay and distress this has caused.

I understand that you have been in touch with our Patient Liaison Service and they are assisting you with the issues you have raised. I wish to reassure you that we will do what we can to ensure resolution and a positive outcome.

Once again, I wish to express my sincere apologies for your experience and the impact that this has had.

Kind regards

Geraldine Carlton

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by danuch (a relative)

Good afternoon Geraldine.

I hope this finds you well.

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your prompt response to our complaint.

It is much appreciated.

Allow me to explain that the only resolution we are seeking is for this biopsy to be scheduled and completed in a speedy and efficient manner as this has gone on for long enough. Speaking to our GP yesterday it has been outlined to us as an urgent matter to be carried out as soon as possible.

This would be the most wonderful outcome we could hope for. We are awaiting a response from SCGH in relation to rescheduling the procedure as this was the most important resolution discussed on Tuesday this week.

I/we are hoping to hear from SCGH by no later than mid next week in regards to this matter.

Kind regards

danuch

Response from Geraldine Carlton, A/Executive Director Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group, Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group We have made a change

picture of Geraldine Carlton

Dear danuch,

Thank you again for your follow-up response. I understand that you have been liaising with staff from SCGH regarding the procedure appointment for your husband and that this has now been confirmed.

I wish to thank you for your patience.

Kind regards

Geraldine Carlton

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Recently read

Shift-Alt-R