"Waiting time for Orthopaedic Surgeon"

About: Royal Perth Hospital

(as a relative),

I am currently sitting at the Royal Perth Hospital where my sister is awaiting surgery by an Orthopaedic Surgeon. She attended the hospital via the Emergency Department early this month and was admitted to a ward in preparation for her surgery. For 5 consecutive days she was told she was on the 'confirmed' surgery list. A Team member from the operating team then told her to discharge and come back today (a few days later). We have now sat in a waiting area awaiting today's surgery which doesn't look like it's going to happen given the time of day now. Whilst we are aware that critical patients take priority this is now taking far too long given my sister has a broken leg and the plate she had previously inserted from the original surgery 12 months ago has now snapped in half (not to mention they've made her wait in a chair for the last 9 hours with no offer of a bed).


Response from Aresh Anwar, Executive Director, Royal Perth Bentley Group We are preparing to make a change

picture of Aresh Anwar

Dear Amea,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I apologise unreservedly for the unacceptable number of cancellations you have experienced.

I raised your concerns with the senior staff and understand that your sister’s surgery went ahead yesterday evening.

Whilst patients can sometimes experience delays due to emergency cases taking precedence and we appreciate your understanding that this can occur, in this instance the delays you have experienced were completely unacceptable and I will be looking into this further to prevent this from occurring to other patients in the future.

Once again, my sincerest apologies for your experience here at Royal Perth Hospital and thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Dr Aresh Anwar

Executive Director

Royal Perth Bentley Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Amea (a relative)

Thank you for your response Aresh. Yes the number of cancellations is unacceptable, there is also the other side to this that my sister utilised a bed in the trauma unit for 4 nights when she received no treatment. I could only imagine that this would have cost a fortune & being that there is very limited bed spaces it was also unnecessary to have her in there taking up room for someone that may have needed it more urgently.

Whilst my sister's case was urgent, she is however able to get around & be in my care at home and not require a bed overnight (prior to the surgery).

Yes she has now had her surgery which I am very happy with.

Again thank you for your response & please do look at how these cases are treated as they are costing the hospital money, we would have been happier to be told when we first approached the hospital that her surgery would not be for a week or two rather than admitting her unnecessarily.

Kind Regards

Response from Aresh Anwar, Executive Director, Royal Perth Bentley Group We have made a change

picture of Aresh Anwar

Dear Amea,

Thank you for continuing to engage in conversation here. At Royal Perth Hospital we are implementing a comprehensive strategy that looks at better ways for getting the timing right for delivering care for patients.

At the heart of this change to practice, the nurse coordinating the ward/ unit or area is given the authority to lead the progress of care for each patient, to make sure that plans for care are scheduled within suitable timeframes. If delays happen that might derail the patient’s plan of care, they can be identified early, and then dealt with properly.

With this of course are some fundamental changes that have happened with the way our teams of nurses, doctors, physios, pharmacists etc. work with each other. Structured with the patient’s successful discharge from hospital in mind, all members of the clinical team are charged with clear roles in this; including providing timely communications to the patient and their families/ carers for each step of their care.

In this streamlining of the way care is discussed, planned and performed, no patient should be left behind wondering what’s happening to them, or why no-one is saying anything. The consequence of this is that resources are then used efficiently, allowing more patients to be treated, and for this to occur in a timely way.

Thank you for coming forward. I unreservedly apologise for your sister’s experience.

I hope your sister is recovering well and best wishes to you.

Kind regards

Dr Aresh Anwar

Executive Director

Royal Perth Hospital Group

  • Amea thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by Amea (a relative)

Good Afternoon Aresh

Thank you for your reply.

My sister is doing really well & we are very happy with the outcome of the surgery. The follow up care by Dr Michael's team has also been great.

I am however glad to hear that changes are being made.

Have a lovely day & keep doing great things.

Kind Regards