"Nose Surgery"

About: Bentley Hospital Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

(as the patient),

I had nose surgery done earlier this year at Bentley Hospital. The surgeon (Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, Ear Nose & Throat Clinic) did not fix my collapsed nose which was one of the issues. The point is he was very willing to fix my collapsed nose when I went to see him first as a private patient. But as soon as I informed him that the insurance was not paying for the operation, I believe his attitude changed. And he did not fix the collapsed nose, only fixed the deviated septum and fracture. Now I am left still with breathing difficulties and lack of sleep. I went to see him after post-op and told him I still couldn't breathe correctly he gave me a nasal spray and then said he was taking me off the public system. I thought that was too quick. Point is why was this Surgeon willing to fix collapsed nose privately. And not fix this in the public system? I wish someone would tell me why. This health system leaves a lot to be desired. In my opinion, treatment of patients is well below grade. And if I hear someone else say to me the public system is free, I will scream. It's not free, you pay for it through Medicare and taxes. And if Perth can't get it's public health system sorted out now what's it going to be like with a growing population? I feel it's basically a mini America - have the money and pay for your operation or get to the end of the queue and suffer. I believe something has got to change.

I am now in the public system to see if I can get the operation to fix my nose. 

Responses

Response from Jennifer Francis, A/Director Safety, Quality & Performance, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, North Metropolitan Health Service

Dear Bankie

Thank you for telling us of your concerns surrounding the events and outcomes of your nose surgery. I am very sorry to hear that the surgery outcomes did not meet your expectations and that you are still suffering with breathing difficulties. I regret also the attitude of the staff that you describe and the negative impact this had on you. This is certainly not in keeping with the values of our service.

Your feedback is very important to us and will help us to improve the service we deliver. I encourage you to contact the Patient Liaison Service at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital on (08) 6457 2867 so that we are able to obtain further details and investigate the concerns you have raised more fully.

Once again, I wish to express my sincere apologies and hope that you will be happy to contact us.

Kind regards

Geraldine Carlton

A/Executive Director

Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Grant Waterer, Acting Executive Director, Royal Perth Bentley Group

picture of Grant Waterer

Dear Bankie,

I’m sorry to hear about your experience. While Bentley Hospital doesn’t employ Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital visiting surgeons, we would like to be able to help you if we can. Please contact my office on 9224 3261 so that we can look into how we might assist you.

Sincerely

Dr Grant Waterer

Acting Director of Clinical Services

Royal Perth Bentley Group

  • Bankie thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by Bankie (the patient)

To SCGH ENT Hospital,

I have received confirmation for appointment at the ENT Department. And I am now seeing another consultant. The point is this was the first consultant I saw back in 2016. Who referred me to the surgeon who did the operation this year. A bit confusing all of this. Or is there a valid reason why I am going back to see this consultant? As the reason I was referred was because this consultant does not do this type of surgery.

Response from Geraldine Carlton, A/Executive Director Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group, Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group

picture of Geraldine Carlton

Dear Bankie

Thank you for your recent response. Your case has been discussed at length with the Head of Department of ENT and he felt it most appropriate that you are reassessed by the first surgeon that you have seen in SCGH. This will ensure some continuity of care as the surgeon already has an understanding of your clinical background.

Kind regards

Geraldine Carlton

  • Bankie doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} it is helpful

Update posted by Bankie (the patient)

In my opinion, what a waste of time for second opinion when this surgeon does not do this type of surgery. It seems there was no continuity with regards to this. I went to see what could be done and was told that SCGH ENT had done they all can in the public system. When I said I could not breathe correctly and still blocked up, basically I would just have to live with it. Or seek second opinion privately. Bottom line, in my view, if a report was done back in 2016 by the surgeon whom I saw for my most recent appointment telling me that I had a collapsed ala, then why was this not fixed. It appears Public Hospital System is limited on what they can do. Like I said previously if you have the money you will get it fixed. So bottom line in this story, in my opinion is that it was ok to get everything all fixed correctly in the private sector, but not in the public. Disappointed once again. And I know my complaint against this surgeon who did my operation earlier this year will fall on deaf ears. It appears no one is accountable for their actions. And yes I will seek a second opinion from another ENT specialist. I already have one from the private sector saying that I needed my collapsed ala fixed and could not understand why this was not done. I will seek another opinion with regards to this matter. I feel my complaint was a waste of time.They are not the ones breathing through their mouth and living with it everyday. I never used this hospital system before and the only time I used it was because of a car accident.

Response from Geraldine Carlton, A/Executive Director Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group, Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group

picture of Geraldine Carlton

Dear Bankie,

Thank you for taking the time to attend the hospital for a second ENT opinion. I am advised that your surgical recovery has progressed as anticipated however, regrettably, this has not met your expectations and you continue to experience discomfort.

I understand that you have been advised by the ENT surgeon that there is nothing further that can be done to assist you in relation to your nose as there is no indication for further surgery. I am sincerely sorry that the clinical advise that you have been given is not what you had hoped.

If you still feel that further investigation is required into your concerns, you may wish to contact the Health and Disability Services Complaints Office (HaDSCO). HaDSCO is an independent Statutory Authority providing an impartial resolution service for complaints relating to health, disability and mental health services provided in Western Australia. HaDSCO can be contacted via telephone (08) 6551 7620 or email mail@hadsco.wa.gov.au.

Kind regards,

Geraldine Carlton.

  • Bankie doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} it is helpful
;