About: Osborne Park Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

Recently I attended the Osbourne Park Hospital. I had surgery to remove a football size lipoma from my leg. From the earlier appointment I had been told that I would be staying at the hospital for 3 or 4 days because of the size of the wound.   I had the operation and was then promptly discharged the next morning. I did not get to see the doctor who operated on me. I didn’t get to know if it was a success, if they got it all, if a biopsy was being sent. And if they would contact me if it was cancer. I got told no wound care and what I am suppose to do with it. Extremely disappointed.


Response from Geraldine Carlton, A/Executive Director Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group, Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group

picture of Geraldine Carlton

Dear sunsy53

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns regarding the care you received whilst a patient at Osborne Park Hospital. Firstly, I would like to apologise most sincerely for the lack of care and support that was shown to you after your recent surgery. I was very disappointed to read of the lack of communication regarding the outcomes of your surgery and discharge planning. This is not in keeping with the quality of care we aim to provide to our patients and I am very sorry for the distress and disappointment you experienced.

I would like to assist you further with the issues you have raised and encourage you to contact the Customer Liaison Office at Osborne Park Hospital on (08) 9346 8009 so that we can obtain further details and investigate the concerns you have raised more fully.

Once again, I wish to express my sincere apologies and hope that you will be happy to contact us.

Kind regards

Geraldine Carlton

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story