"Appointment information"

About: Angliss Hospital

(as the patient),

I attended the plaster clinic recently as I had 2 fractured wrists. I was given a follow-up appointment this month.

I received a text from the clinic the day before the scheduled date to say that my appointment had been changed to a few days later. I was not happy as I had already had both wrists in casts since last month. I did, unfortunately, cancel the new appointment because I did not want the appointment changed. 

I rang the hospital the day before my original appointment to discover that the fracture clinic was closed and not reopening until the end of the week.

The receptionist put me through to Chandler House as they said there was someone there who could help me. I had to leave a message - my name and phone number.

No call back was received. 

I also responded back on the text I had received to say that I would attend the Clinic on the new scheduled date. 

I was distressed when I arrived at the clinic that morning to find my appointment had been cancelled and rescheduled for the next working day. My arms will be in casts for nearly 8 weeks.

I feel the consequences of being given an appointment on  a day when the clinic was closed have been most distressing.


Response from David Plunkett, Chief Executive, Eastern Health

picture of David Plunkett

Dear outflowrw48

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with the fracture clinics at Angliss Hospital and Eastern Health. I am sorry your experience was not a positive one and with the multiple changes you had to your appointments, I can understand why you would be distressed and no doubt frustrated and annoyed.

I hope you did get your fractured wrists reviewed in clinic and the plan for your ongoing care determined with you. Notwithstanding this now hopefully being in place, your experience provides valuable learnings with regards to areas we can improve.

As such, I would like to invite you to contact one of our Patient Relations Advisors in the Eastern Health Centre for Patient Experience either by calling 1800 EASTERN or by emailing feedback@easternhealth.org.au. If you choose to call please be aware that it is possible that the Patient Relations Advisors may be on another call at the time you ring and if so you will be invited to leave a message so they can return your call.

I hope we hear from you soon.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful