"RSL Care - new home and community care (HACC)"

About: RSL Care

(as a service user),

While I acknowledge that the switch over of the program to RSL is a huge project and likely to cause many complications, I was rather taken aback by the lady handling the Rostering segment (phone no. 5490 6360) before I'd hardly opened my mouth to explain my situation she told me that she was tired of all the people demanding morning services. I spoke passively and said that I certainly wasn't demanding, I just wished to explain my own circumstances. The lady seemed in no mood to even listen and kept reiterating that we had to take what we could get and no chance of an advance warning of when that might be. So I thanked her and requested that she cross my name off the list, and I would just have to manage on my own. Following which, she made an offer that I could have Thursdays with a guarantee that my person would be finished by 11. 30am - but not this week. Another 2 weeks hence. I can accept that but still wonder why the lady was so rude in the first place.

Query number 2? Why the big secret about the "Client Contribution" which begins in July. It is already July and no one I have spoken to has any idea just how much the contribution will be? ? ?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Quality Systems Coordinator, Metro North Brisbane Medicare Local We are preparing to make a change

Dear Nannafidd,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate the feedback you have provided. We are currently working with RSL Care to resolve this issue. If you need to contact RSL Care directly please contact Ph: 3457 2255. We aim to provide you with a full response to your feedback by the end of this week.

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback as this will assist to improve the quality of services provided.

Kind Regards,

Metro North Brisbane Medicare Local.

Response from Metro North Brisbane Medicare Local We have made a change

Dear Nannafidd,

“RSL Care are deeply sorry that you had such a negative experience with the staff member when you called the site office.

Your experience with the RSL Care staff member was truly shameful, totally unacceptable and extremely disappointing to hear.

Please be reassured that the comment has been escalated to the RSL Care Area HomeCare Manager for action at site level and site staff have had subsequent retraining in communication and telephone skills.

All Medicare Local Nth HACC RSL Care clients have been sent a letter late last week detailing the reasoning behind the co payment arrangement, the preferred method of payment and reassurance that they will be contacted by an RSL Care representative re the co payment if they have any concerns they may have re their capacity to pay the co payment.”

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

RSL Care.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story