"The psychologist referred me to another service,I'm not happy with her"

About: Wagga Applied Psychology Service (Murrumbidgee Medicare Local)

(as the patient),

English is not my first language, and I have stutter when speaking English, maybe I'm too anxious, actually I know what I should speak but couldn't speak out, so I went to see psychologist at WAPS. I prefer an interpreter and they didn't offer, I think it's ok, because I tried my best to communicate with the psychologist, and she said I was doing very well, so we would continue the treatment and made the next appointment, but after 1 week, the psychologist rang me and told me that she will refer me to another service, because the other service centre can offer an interpreter, I'm not happy with the psychologist. I went to see her because of my English speaking stutter, if I speak to the interpreter, I don't think I have the problem, so as a psychologist she didn't resolve my problem basically but referred me to another one, I don't think she is a good psychologist.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Communications and Marketing, Murrumbidgee Medicare Local

Thank you for providing feedback about the Wagga Applied Psychology Service. We are disappointed to learn that your experience was not what you had hoped for. Our team is trained to conduct a thorough assessment and determine the appropriate treatment. Sometimes, a psychologist may determine that an alternative service would better suit a client’s needs. On these occasions we always aim to provide an explanation as to why an alternative referral is needed and will also make that referral on your behalf (to make the process as smooth as possible for you). Your feedback is a great reminder for us to explore appropriate interpreter options that can be used within our service.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful