"First time experience at Box Hill Hospital"

About: Box Hill Hospital

(as the patient),

This was my first time experience for an MRI. Instructions provided to find the facility were accurate and very good. The reception and introduction was very good and one would say 'caring' in nature. The explanation of the MRI machine, in particular the amount of noise was not well explained. As a first time experience it would have helped to hear a brief description of the different loud noises and that this experience is normal. Similarly there was no explanation of any possible side effects (or no expected side effects) for the MRI. The routine nature of the work and the attitude of the staff albeit 'caring' did portray its batch nature (unfortunately). After paying the account the challenge was to back track to the exit to find my way out (it was necessary to read signs pointing it the direction from where I had come). Following a coloured line maybe better.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Alan Lilly, Chief Executive, Eastern Health

picture of Alan Lilly

Dear Platypus

Many thanks for sharing your story on Patient Opinion.

With regard to your feedback on the MRI, I will pass this on to MIA which is a private company providing MRI services at Box Hill under a contractual arrangement. I am sorry that you didn't receive a good explanation with regard to what was going to happen and I know that this would be quite concerning especially with regard to the noise. Please be reassured that I will pass your feedback on to them.

With regard to the directions, I will have a look at this and ask one of our staff to review the signage from the MRI to the exit. It may be more confusing at the moment as we have some temporary refurbishment works underway. However, I will get this checked and make a further posting in this regard.

In the meantime, thank you for sharing your story with us as through feedback like this, we can continue to improve.

Kind regards, Alan Lilly

  • Platypus thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Response from Alan Lilly, Chief Executive, Eastern Health We have made a change

picture of Alan Lilly

Dear Platypus

By way of an update, I am just confirming that Peter Rouse, our Director of Medical Imaging, has confirmed that he will pass on your feedback directly to MIA.

I am pleased to also advised that Peter has reviewed the signage "in the patient's shoes" and whilst it was generally good, he has identified some shortcomings - as you outlined - which he has said he will fix right away.

So thank you for sharing your story on patient opinion and alerting us to a problem and an easy improvement for future patients and their families.

Kind regards, Alan Lilly

  • Platypus thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Response from Alan Lilly, Chief Executive, Eastern Health

picture of Alan Lilly

Dear Platypus - This is just quick update to show you that temporary signage has been installed already. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind regards, Alan Lilly

Image title

Image title

  • Platypus thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by Platypus (the patient)

Dear Alan,

I recently visited the hospital and in particular the MRI facility. I deliberately walked in both directions 'testing' the new signage. It works. May I extend my gratitude and appreciation to the improvements but most importantly the opportunity and processes that Patient Opinion has provided for patient comments and for these improvements to occur. Respect for opinions expressed, notification of intended actions and demonstration of those actions is very positive and an excellent illustration of the hospital's commitment to continuous improvement. Thank you for listening and the opportunity to make an improvement.

Regards,

Platypus

Response from Alan Lilly, Chief Executive, Eastern Health

picture of Alan Lilly

Dear Platypus

Thanks so much for your latest posting, you have made my day! No doubt our staff will be chuffed too, when they see your comments. This was one of the few times when we have posted photos too so I think that has been a helpful addition to the platform. We are enjoying being part of Patient Opinion too and we're learning lots through this process.

I really appreciate your update too. Have a great festive season.

Kind regards, Alan Lilly

  • Platypus thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by Platypus (the patient)

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your reply and best wishes for the festive season.

Regards,

Platypus.