You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Doctors not listening"

About: Fiona Stanley Hospital

(as the patient),

Recently I was seen at the Connective Tissue Clinic by a Rheumatologist who had not seem me before. This person did not read my file beforehand, had this person done so they may have found the original referral was to a different person. I questioned this but felt somewhat dismissed. This person did not listen when I said I had extremely hypermobile joints and to be cautious and let me move myself rather than how this person would normally proceed with the examination. Consequently I now have a dislocated shoulder. I was able to put the G.H. (glenohumeral) joint back in myself but the A.C. (acromioclavicular) joint is a different story. Now, two weeks later the joint is still dislocated. I have seen doctors about this, but I have been told this type of dislocation cannot be put back in without surgery. However, I have also been told surgery is not an option for me. 

Prior to this appointment my shoulder was in place and ok. Now it is not and I have been told to learn how to live with this dislocation.  I use crutches so I need my arms to walk. This is totally unacceptable and I believe could have been prevented had this person listened. 

Responses

Response from Janet Zagari, Executive Director Transformation, South Metropolitan Health Service, South Metropolitan Health Service

picture of Janet Zagari

Dear feeling dismissed,

Thank you for taking the time to share your story on Patient Opinion. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with Fiona Stanley Hospital and the challenges you now face day to day with a dislocated shoulder. It concerns me greatly that you didn’t feel listened to when we were providing you care and I would like to fully investigate the concerns you have raised.

I encourage you to contact me via FSH.ExecutiveDirectorCorrespondence@health.wa.gov.au so I can speak with you directly.

Kind regards

Janet Zagari

Executive Director

Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospitals Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by feeling dismissed (the patient)

Hi Janet,

I would like to say this is the first time an incident has occured from doctors not listening at Fiona Stanley Hospital, but this is not an isolated incident. It may be the first time I have reported it this way as most of the time I have been able to resolve the issue myself or I just let it go, but this time I cannot do that. This time it's left me with permanent damage that at this stage cannot be repaired. This is not ok. As it is, I won't go to your ED as the experiences I have had there have been so bad I don't have words for them.

When I present to your hospital; I present with known diagnosed conditions. When I present, I come prepared with information to assist whoever I see as I understand that they may not have heard about some of my diagnosed conditions. Most of the time I feel the doctors don't want to hear it. That's when injuring occurs and things get missed.

I have to go back to that clinic in a few months. I don't want to, but I need to apparently. As it stands, I won't see the one who I believe injured me, but rather the person I was originally meant to see. I have little hope left for the outcomes of those kind of appointments.

As I like to try balance out negatives with positives, I will say this. You have an exceptionally talented orthoptist in your rehab. clinic.

Response from Janet Zagari, Executive Director Transformation, South Metropolitan Health Service, South Metropolitan Health Service

picture of Janet Zagari

Dear feeling dismissed,

Many thanks for your further feedback. I acknowledge your frustration at not being listening to. It is a very important skill for clinicians to be able to listen carefully to patients concerns and history. As mentioned previously, I would like to investigate your situation and, if you are amenable to that, please contact me directly.

Thank you for your kind comments about the orthoptist. I have passed your comments on to the clinic and they are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience.

Yours sincerely,

Janet Zagari

Executive Director

Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospitals Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by feeling dismissed (the patient)

Hi Janet,

I attempted to phone you yesterday but our schedules seemed to clash. I will try again between 11am and 12 and then again after 1pm. Hopefully I can catch you today.

Recently read

Shift-Alt-R