"Very disappointed in the care my 90 year old mother received."

About: Fiona Stanley Hospital

(as a relative),

I am speaking on behalf of my 90 year old Mother.

My Mother was put into Fiona Stanley Hospital for renal problems.  The duty of care of my Mother received, I thought, was appalling.  She waited up to 6 hours or more to go into her bed, she had not had anything to eat, had to ask for something and was given peas and carrots as she had a procedure the next morning, which was cancelled and once again beg for food.  Everyday she was there this happened to her.  No one bothered to explain to this "90" yr old that meals were to be ordered on line, the tea lady never came near her, if it wasn't for a very nice Asian Lady, Mum would have starved.  She went in 68 kilos and four days later weighed 57, explain that.  Mum's bed was never made for her, she had one shower because the floor was too slippery.

Never will my Mother go in there again, never.


Response from Neil Doverty, Executive Director, Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospitals Group, South Metropolitan Health Service

picture of Neil Doverty

Dear Duty of Care,

Thank you for sharing your families experience of your mother’s inpatient stay at Fiona Stanley Hospital. I was very disappointed to hear that your mother's condition deteriorated while she was in our care. This is not in keeping with the expectations that we have of the services we provide and I am extremely sorry for the distress this has caused your mother and family.

I understand that you have been in touch with our Patient and Family Liaison Service and they are assisting with the issues you have raised. I wish to reassure you that we will investigate the issues you have raised and I encourage you to keep in contact with the Patient and Family Liaison service. This process helps us to ensure put in place strategies to ensure these circumstances do not occur again.

I would like to assure you that the care of our elderly patients is very important to us and we have recently implemented a number of measures to improve the care we provide for our elderly and frail patients.

Once again, I wish to express my sincere apologies for your mother’s experience.

Kind regards,

Neil Doverty

  • Duty of Care doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} it is helpful